I want to take part!

Your message was sent successfully. We will get in touch with you!

We look forward to hearing from you!
Name*
Prename*
Email*
Phone
Message*
Send inquiry
#projectenera
The Next Big Step Towards A Sustainable World

An Initiative Of EWE AG:

energie-vernetzen.de

How does energy future work with enera?

The energy transition in Germany is at a decisive point. The far-reaching processes of change that have taken place over the last few years in the energy industry as a whole address many fundamental challenges that need to be resolved in the next major step. The expansion of renewable energies is increasing year by year and forms an increasingly important pillar of energy supply. The phasing out of nuclear energy and the gradual decline in conventional generation based on fossil fuels are also having an impact on the energy system. 

enera demonstrates how the infrastructure of the energy system can be innovated in such a way that, despite the new requirements and the variety of technologies used at the same time, it shows a high degree of resilience. In addition, enera demonstrates how markets and digitization can significantly reduce network expansion costs and create opportunities for innovative business models. This opens up new avenues and opportunities for political control of the progress of the energy transition in Germany. As a result, Germany is becoming the leading international market for energy transformation, and the German economy has a good chance of becoming a technology leader and providing the leading international suppliers.

Mission Statement
Subsidy Programme
#projectenera
Solution Approach
Partners
#projectenera
The Next Big Step Towards A Sustainable World

In our model region in northwest Germany, we want to raise our energy system to a new level of development.

enera is working on the realization of the next major step in the energy transition in a diverse partner network of new and "classic" players in the energy industry. Through further technological development, networking on the basis of new market mechanisms and complete digitization, we want to create a stable and economically optimised energy system in our model region. Here, new business models and innovations can develop rapidly. The technical and digital interaction of network, market and data creates an incubator for the energy transition.

The project focuses on two aspects: the breaking up of established structures, basic beliefs and approaches on the one hand and the stability and security of energy supply on the other.

enera's activities focus on three main challenges:

1. The change from a static to a dynamic system: markets and business models aim at hitherto unknown developments.

2. The transformation from a central to a decentralized system: both energy supply and system security are increasingly being provided from the distribution network.

3. The economic cost-benefit ratio: System transformation must be optimised by means of market mechanisms and regulation.

#projectenera
A Showcase For The Energy Future

In 2050 80% of Germany's electricity consumption is to be covered by renewable energy sources. In order to achieve this ambitious goal, new solutions must be developed in many areas.​​

The primary aim is to keep global warming below the two-degree Celsius limit and to reduce CO2 emissions sustainably. The further expansion of renewable energies that is necessary for this requires an intelligent interaction of all actors within the energy system. Smart grids and smart markets, i. e. intelligent grids and a coordinated energy market, play a decisive role here.

The Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) has launched a subsidy programme entitled "Smart Energy Showcases - Digital Agenda for the Energy Transition". Within the scope of this funding programme, a multi-year practical test will show how sustainable energy systems can be used on a large scale. It is planned to involve selected market participants from all stages of the value chain in order to show how these sustainable energy systems can be technically implemented and what economic added value they offer.

The BMWi has selected five model regions for this purpose. Smart grids, smart markets and supporting technologies are used in these regions to supply power to the population and industry. This promotes the further development of our energy supply in all areas - from generation, transmission and distribution of energy to marketing to consumers.

The showcase Intelligent Energy as a large practical test is necessary because the complexity of a future intelligent energy system is too great to be described in theory alone. enera has successfully applied for participation in the subsidy programme to help shape the next major step in the transition of energy systems and has been receiving support since the beginning of 2017.

#projectenera
Where The Future Of Energy Supply Is Already Daily Practice Today

The enera model region in northwestern Germany is characterised by decentralised generation of large quantities of wind energy from onshore and offshore wind farms

In concrete terms, a share of around 235 percent of renewable energies is already flowing through the electricity grids in the model region. These figures are already more than twice as high as the Federal Government's targets for the year 2050. This makes the Northwest a large renewable power plant!

Every day, the two major challenges of the energy transition have to be mastered here: on the one hand, generation focuses with fluctuating power generation, and on the other hand, regional differences in the focus of consumption. Finding solutions for the requirements of energy transition has been daily practice here for years.

Electricity from renewable energies is already being exported in large quantities from our region. The total consumption of the planned model region is already fully covered in the balance sheet from locally generated renewable energy. The region is therefore ideally suited for the "showcase wind" project.

The entire enera model region is supporting the project. Many local citizens are already actively involved in shaping the energy transition by installing photovoltaic systems and biogas plants as well as by participating in wind farms. Furthermore, the political and economic actors have been partners of enera since the application phase. They support the project both in the region and beyond. The focus is on the idea of using the already existing "large-scale renewable power plant" as a demonstrator for the next major step in the energy turnaround.

#eneraproject
Network, Market and Data - Incubator for the Energy Revolution

The central idea of enera is to take the next big step in the transition of energy on the basis of the three intensively networked core areas of network, market and data. The model region thus forms an incubator in which the future project can grow and prosper.

Grid

In the grid context, it is shown which prerequisites are necessary at the energy system level to ensure that the energy network will continue to operate reliably and efficiently in the future. The flexibility of decentralised generation plants, consumers and storage facilities is just as important as the use of new, intelligent network resources to create further options for grid management. In addition, the intensive use of intelligent measuring systems creates new options for the role concept of a Smart Grid Operator - especially in combination with the core area of data.

Market

The increased transparency and usability of flexibility in the network leads to new market opportunities. The focus is on the expansion of the intraday market with regionalized products. One of the aims of enera is to demonstrate network management using market-contracted flexibility (yellow traffic light phase), in which interventions to maintain the stability of the distribution networks are reduced to a minimum. The market design is thus adapted to decentralised, flexible generation and consumption systems as well as short- and long-term storage facilities.

Data

In order to enable these new data-based options and processes, a reliable and secure standards-based ICT connectivity of all systems is first needed to be integrated into an overall system. The enera Smart Data and Service Platform is being set up to organize data flows and enable the connection of analysis applications and services. This is accompanied by an optimized moderation of the overall system and multiple possibilities for realizing new business models on the basis of digitalization ("energy turnaround AppStore").

In addition to these three core categories, enera also deals with the stability and transferability of results. First of all, citizens in the model region will actively shape the project and incorporate their requirements into it. The experience gained is integrated into target group-specific qualification concepts. Furthermore, the partners work out concepts for information security in order to further develop these as standards. Last but not least, the results of the project will be used for future Germany-wide scenarios to develop proposals for the legal and regulatory framework.

#projectenera
Combining Competencies To Intelligently Connect Energy
Sector:
Action Field:
Activity Field:
Counterpart:
Kontakt aufnehmen
3M Deutschland GmbH
Avacon AG
BTC
devolo
DLR
Enercon GmbH
energy & meteo systems
EWE
EWE NETZ
Forschungsgemeinschaft Elektrische Analagen u. Stromwirtschaft e.V. (FGH)
Hochschule Fresenius - Institut für Energiewirtschaft (INEWI)
IABG mbH
Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH
Landkreis (District) Aurich
Likron GmbH
OFFIS e.V.
PHOENIX CONTACT Energy Automation GmbH
Power Plus Communications
Bosch Software Innovations GmbH
RWTH Aachen/IAEW
SAP
SCHULZ Systemtechnik GmbH
Siemens AG
Software AG
Stadtwerke Lingen GmbH
TenneT TSO GmbH
Theben AG
the peak lab. GmbH & Co. KG
TU Clausthal
University Duisburg-Essen
MicrobEnergy GmbH
Younicos

Ich will mitmachen

Deine Nachricht wurde erfolgreich gesendet. Wir werden Dir so bald wie möglich antworten!

Wir freuen uns auf Dich!
Name*
Vorname*
E-Mail*
Telefon
Nachricht*
Anfrage senden
#projektenera
Der nächste große Schritt der Energiewende.

Eine Initiative der EWE AG:

energie-vernetzen.de

Wie geht Energiezukunft mit enera?

Die Energiewende in Deutschland steht an einem entscheidenden Punkt. Die tiefgreifenden Veränderungsprozesse der letzten Jahre im energiewirtschaftlichen Gesamtsystem adressieren viele grundlegende Herausforderungen, die es in einem nächsten großen Schritt zu lösen gilt. Der Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien steigt Jahr um Jahr an und bildet eine zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnende Säule in der Energieversorgung. Der Ausstieg aus der Kernenergie und der sukzessive Rückgang konventioneller Erzeugung auf Basis fossiler Energieträger wirken ebenfalls auf das Energiesystem. 

enera demonstriert, wie die Infrastruktur des Energiesystems so innoviert werden kann, dass sie trotz der neuen Anforderungen und der Vielfalt von gleichzeitig eingesetzten Technologien eine hohe Resilienz aufweist. Darüber hinaus demonstriert enera, wie durch Märkte und Digitalisierung Netzausbaukosten deutlich reduziert werden und Chancen für innovative Geschäftsmodelle entstehen. Daraus ergeben sich neue Wege und Handlungsmöglichkeiten für die politische Steuerung des Fortschritts der Energiewende in Deutschland. Deutschland wird dadurch zu dem internationalen Leitmarkt der Energietransformation und die deutsche Wirtschaft hat gute Chancen, zum Technologieführer zu werden und die internationalen Leitanbieter zu stellen.

Mission Statement
Förderprogramm
Modellregion
Lösungsansatz
Partner
#projektenera
Der nächste große Schritt der Energiewende

In unserer nordwestdeutschen Modellregion wollen wir unser Energiesystem auf eine neue Entwicklungsstufe heben.

enera arbeitet an der Realisierung des nächsten großen Schrittes der Energiewende in einem vielfältigen Partnernetzwerk aus neuen und „klassischen” Akteuren der Energiewirtschaft. Durch technologische Weiterentwicklung, Vernetzung auf Basis neuer Marktmechanismen und einer vollständigen Digitalisierung wollen wir in unserer Modellregion ein stabiles und volkswirtschaftlich optimiertes Energiesystem schaffen. Hier können sich neue Geschäftsmodelle und Innovationen zügig entwickeln. So entsteht aus dem technischen und digitalen Zusammenwirken von Netz, Markt und Daten ein Inkubator für die Energiewende.

Zwei Aspekte stehen im Fokus des Projektes: Das Aufbrechen etablierter Strukturen, Grundüberzeugungen und Herangehensweisen auf der einen Seite sowie die Stabilität und Sicherstellung der Energieversorgung auf der anderen Seite.

Die Aktivitäten von enera richten sich an drei Hauptherausforderungen aus:

1. Wandel vom statischen zum dynamischen System: Märkte und Geschäfts­modelle zielen auf bis dato unbekannte Entwicklungen.

2. Wandel vom zentralen zum dezentralen System: Sowohl Energielieferung als auch Systemsicherheit werden zunehmend aus dem Verteilnetz bereitgestellt.

3. Die volkswirtschaftliche Kosten-Nutzen-Relation: Die Systemtransformation ist durch Markt­mechanismen und Regulierung zu optimieren.

#projektenera
Ein Schaufenster für die Energiezukunft

Im Jahr 2050 soll der Stromverbrauch Deutschlands zu 80 Prozent aus erneuerbaren Energieträgern gedeckt werden. Um dieses ehrgeizige Ziel zu erreichen, sind in vielen Bereichen neue Lösungen zu entwickeln.

Vor allem geht es darum, die Klimaerwärmung unterhalb der Zwei-Grad-Celsius-Grenze zu halten und nachhaltig CO2-Emissionen zu reduzieren. Der hierfür notwendige weitere Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien benötigt ein intelligentes Zusammenspiel aller Akteure innerhalb des Energiesystems. Smart Grids und Smart Markets, also intelligente Netze und ein darauf abgestimmter Energiemarkt, spielen hier entscheidende Rollen.

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) hat ein Förderprogramm mit dem Titel „Schaufenster Intelligente Energie – Digitale Agenda für die Energiewende“ aufgelegt. Im Rahmen dieses Förderprogramms soll durch einen mehrjährigen Praxistest gezeigt werden, wie zukunftsfähige Energiesysteme großflächig eingesetzt werden können. Geplant ist, ausgewählte Marktteilnehmer aller Wertschöpfungsstufen einzubeziehen, um aufzuzeigen wie diese zukunftsfähigen Energiesysteme technisch realisiert werden können und welchen wirtschaftlichen Mehrwert sie bieten.

Dazu hat das BMWi fünf Modellregionen ausgewählt. In diesen Regionen werden Smart Grids, Smart Markets und unterstützende Technologien zur Stromversorgung der Bevölkerung und der Industrie eingesetzt. Dies fördert die Weiterentwicklung unserer Energieversorgung in allen Bereichen – von der Erzeugung, Übertragung und Verteilung der Energie bis hin zur Vermarktung an die Verbraucher.

Das Schaufenster Intelligente Energie als großer Praxistest ist notwendig, weil die Komplexität eines zukünftigen intelligenten Energiesystems zu groß ist, um es allein theoretisch zu beschreiben. Enera hat sich erfolgreich um die Teilnahme am Förderprogramm beworben, um den nächsten großen Schritt der Energiewende mitzugestalten und wird seit Beginn des Jahres 2017 gefördert.

#projektenera
Wo die Zukunft der Energieversorgung heute schon tägliche Praxis ist

Die enera Modellregion im Nordwesten Deutschlands ist geprägt von dezentraler Erzeugung großer Mengen Windenergie aus On- und Offshore-Windparks.

Konkret fließt bereits jetzt ein Anteil von ca. 235 Prozent erneuerbarer Energien durch die Stromnetze in der Modellregion. Diese Werte übertreffen bereits jetzt die Ziele der Bundesregierung für das Jahr 2050 um mehr als das Doppelte. Damit ist der Nordwesten ein regeneratives Großkraftwerk!

Jeden Tag sind hier die zwei großen Herausforderungen der Energiewende zu bewältigen: auf der einen Seite Erzeugungsschwerpunkte mit schwankender Stromerzeugung, andererseits regional unterschiedliche Verbrauchsschwerpunkte. Lösungen für die Anforderungen der Energiewende zu finden, ist hier seit Jahren tägliche Praxis.

Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien wird aus unserer Region schon heute in größeren Mengen exportiert. Der Gesamtverbrauch der geplanten Modellregion wird bilanziell bereits vollständig aus vor Ort erzeugter erneuerbarer Energie gedeckt. Die Region ist deshalb optimal für das Vorhaben „Schaufenster Wind“ geeignet.

Die gesamte enera Modellregion steht hinter dem Projekt. Viele Bürger vor Ort gestalten schon heute, durch die Installation von Photovoltaikanlagen und Biogasanlagen sowie durch die Beteiligung an Windparks, die Energiewende aktiv mit. Darüber hinaus sind die politischen und wirtschaftlichen Akteure bereits seit der Antragsphase Partner von enera. Sie unterstützen das Projekt sowohl in der Region als auch darüber hinaus. Im Fokus steht der Gedanke, das bereits heute bestehende regenerative „Großkraftwerk“ für den nächsten großen Schritt der Energiewende als Demonstrator zu nutzen.

#projektenera
Netz, Markt und Daten - Inkubator für die Energiewende

Der zentrale Gedanke von enera ist, auf Basis der drei intensiv vernetzten Kernbereiche Netz, Markt und Daten den nächsten großen Schritt der Energiewende zu machen. Die Modellregion bildet damit einen Inkubator, indem das Zukunftsprojekt wachsen und gedeihen kann.

Netz

Im Netzkontext wird gezeigt, welche Voraussetzungen auf energiesystemtechnischer Ebene nötig sind, um das Energienetz auch in Zukunft zuverlässig und effizient zu betreiben. Dabei spielt die Flexibilisierung von dezentralen Erzeugungsanlagen, Verbrauchern und Speichern eine ebenso entscheidende Rolle wie der Einsatz neuer, intelligenter Netzbetriebsmittel zur Schaffung weiterer Optionen bei der Netzführung. Der intensive Einsatz von intelligenten Messsystemen schafft darüber hinaus – insbesondere im Zusammenspiel mit dem Kernbereich Daten – neue Handlungsmöglichkeiten für das Rollenkonzept eines Smart Grid Operators.

Markt

Die erhöhte Transparenz und Nutzbarkeit von Flexibilitäten im Netz führt zu neuen Möglichkeiten im Markt. Im Fokus steht dabei die verteilnetzdienliche Erweiterung des Intraday-Marktes um regionalisierte Produkte. Somit verfolgt enera unter anderem das Ziel, eine Netzführung unter Nutzung marktlich kontrahierter Flexibilitäten (gelbe Ampelphase) zu demonstrieren, in der Eingriffe zum Erhalt der Stabilität der Verteilnetze auf ein Minimum reduziert sind. Das Marktdesign wird damit an dezentrale, flexibilisierte Erzeugungs- und Verbrauchsanlagen sowie Kurz- und Langzeitspeicher angepasst.

Daten

Um diese neuen auf Daten basierenden Optionen und Prozesse zu ermöglichen, ist zuerst eine zuverlässige und sichere standardbasierte IKT-Konnektivität aller Anlagen notwendig, um in ein Gesamtsystem integriert zu werden. Um die Datenflüsse zu organisieren und die Anbindung von Analyseanwendungen und Services zu ermöglichen, wird die enera Smart Data und Service Plattform aufgebaut. Damit einher gehen eine optimierte Moderation des Gesamtsystems und vielfache Möglichkeiten zur Realisierung neuer Geschäftsmodelle auf Basis der Digitalisierung („Energiewende-AppStore“).

Über diese drei Kernkategorien hinaus befasst sich enera mit der Verstetigung und Übertragbarkeit der Ergebnisse. Zunächst werden die Bürger in der Modellregion das Projekt aktiv mitgestalten und ihre Anforderungen mit einfließen lassen. Die gemachten Erfahrungen werden in zielgruppenspezifische Qualifizierungskonzepte integriert. Darüber hinaus erarbeiten die Partner Konzepte für Informationssicherheit, um diese als Standards weiter zu entwickeln. Nicht zuletzt werden die Ergebnisse des Projekts für zukünftige deutschlandweite Szenarien genutzt, um Vorschläge zum gesetzlichen und regulatorischen Rahmenwerk zu erarbeiten.

#projektenera
Kompetenzen bündeln, um Energie intelligent zu vernetzen
Bereich:
Tätigkeitsfelder:
Handlungsfelder:
Ansprechpartner:
Kontakt aufnehmen
3M Deutschland GmbH
Avacon AG
BTC
devolo
DLR
Enercon GmbH
energy & meteo systems
EWE
EWE NETZ
Forschungsgemeinschaft Elektrische Analagen u. Stromwirtschaft e.V. (FGH)
Hochschule Fresenius - Institut für Energiewirtschaft (INEWI)
IABG mbH
Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH
Landkreis Aurich
Likron GmbH
OFFIS e.V.
PHOENIX CONTACT Energy Automation GmbH
Power Plus Communications
Bosch Software Innovations GmbH
RWTH Aachen/IAEW
SAP
SCHULZ Systemtechnik GmbH
Siemens AG
Software AG
Stadtwerke Lingen GmbH
TenneT TSO GmbH
Theben AG
the peak lab. GmbH & Co. KG
TU Clausthal
Universität Duisburg-Essen
MicrobEnergy GmbH
Younicos

enera ist ein sogenanntes Verbundprojekt.

Das bedeutet, dass sich mehrere Akteure, wie Wirtschaftsunternehmen und wissenschaftliche Institute zu einem Konsortium zusammenschließen und sich gemeinsam um Fördermittel bewerben. Das enera Konsortium besteht derzeit aus 33 Konsortialpartnern.